FIT4Green – Aims and Goals

The Fit4Green initative is aiming at a contribution towards the reduction of ICT energy.

One of the means to reach this goal is the creation of an energy-aware layer of plug-ins for data centre automation frameworks. This should help improve the energy efficiency of currently existing IT solution strategies and help in the recudition and minimization of the general power consumption.

The following list summarizes FIT4Green scientific and technical objectives:

  • Research on energy aware extensions to business models and SLAs for whole IT solutions
  • Design of the system architecture for “smart ICT” solutions based on the single and federated site’s real world technological and business requirements
  • Research and development of energy consumptions models of the integrated full chain of components in an IT solutions, including client, servers and network equipments
  • Research and development of energy aware deployment optimization policies, considering the differences between sites of federated data centres
  • Development of energy control mechanisms, as modular plug-in for the data centre automation frameworks of the pilot sites (but designed to be extensible to any framework), to integrate energy consumption models and optimization policies for the different computing styles both in single and federated configuration.

Overview – Events that where held by Fit4Green Project

Workshop on Products for energy-aware data and processes in service oriented software environments
From Tue, 06/12/2012 – 10:00 to Tue, 06/12/2012 – 17:30
Location: Milan, Italy

DataCentres2012
From Wed, 05/23/2012 (All day) to Thu, 05/24/2012 (All day)
Location: Nice, France

Data Centres 2012, a European data centre conference, will take place May 23-24 in Nice, France. The conference includes 100 speakers, three conference theatres, and five master classes. The expected attendance is more than 750 professionals from 30 different countries.

Giovanni Giuliani (HP) gave a talk about FIT4Green.

e-Energy 2012: Third International Conference on Future Energy Systems Where Energy, Computing and Communication Meet
From Wed, 05/09/2012 (All day) to Fri, 05/11/2012 (All day)
Location: Madrid, Spain

1st International Workshop on Energy-Efficient Data Centres (E2DC)
From Tue, 05/08/2012 – 09:00 to Tue, 05/08/2012 – 17:40
Location: Madrid, Spain

ENERGY 2012 – The Second International Conference on Smart Grids, Green Communications and IT Energy-aware Technologies
From Sun, 03/25/2012 (All day) to Thu, 03/29/2012 (All day)
Location: St. Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

HotPower – 4th Workshop on Power-Aware Computing and Systems
From Sun, 10/23/2011 (All day) to Wed, 10/26/2011 (All day)
Location: Cascais, Portugal

First ICST International Conference on Green Communications and Networking (GreenNets 2011)
From Wed, 10/05/2011 (All day) to Fri, 10/07/2011 (All day)
Location: Colmar, France

26th International Symposium on Computer and Information Sciences
From Mon, 09/26/2011 – 09:00 to Wed, 09/28/2011 (All day)
Location: the Royal Society, London

International Conference on Energy-Aware High Performance Computing (EnA-HPC)
From Wed, 09/07/2011 (All day) to Fri, 09/09/2011 (All day)
Location: Hamburg, Germany

1st International Conference on ICT as Key Technology for the Fight against Global Warming – ICT-GLOW 2011
From Mon, 08/29/2011 (All day) to Fri, 09/02/2011 (All day)
Location: Toulouse, France

IEEE International Conference on Intelligent Computer Communication and Processing
From Thu, 08/25/2011 (All day) to Sat, 08/27/2011 (All day)
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania

e-Energy 2011 Second International Conference on Energy-Efficient Computing and Networking
From Mon, 05/30/2011 (All day) to Wed, 06/01/2011 (All day)
Location: Columbia University, New York

The First International Conference on Smart Grids, Green Communications and IT Energy-aware Technologies (ENERGY 2011)
From Sun, 05/22/2011 (All day) to Fri, 05/27/2011 (All day)
Location: Venice, Italy

The 2nd International ICST Conference on Digital Business (DIGIBIZ 2011)
From Wed, 02/23/2011 (All day) to Fri, 02/25/2011 (All day)
Location: London

3rd International Workshop on Green Communications (GreenComm3)
From Fri, 12/10/2010 (All day) to Fri, 12/10/2010 (All day)
Location: Miami, Florida, USA

IEEE CAMAD 2010
From Fri, 12/03/2010 (All day) to Sat, 12/04/2010 (All day)
Location: Miami, USA

1st International ICST Conference on E-Energy (E-Energy 2010)
From Thu, 10/14/2010 (All day) to Fri, 10/15/2010 (All day)
Location: Athens, Greece

Intel European Research and Innovation Conference
From Tue, 10/12/2010 (All day) to Thu, 10/14/2010 (All day)
Location: Leixlip, Ireland

Join the FIT4Green and GAMES networking session at ICT 2010!
From Tue, 09/28/2010 – 11:00 to Tue, 09/28/2010 – 12:30
Location: Brussels Expo, T 006

ICT 2010: DIGITALLY DRIVEN
From Mon, 09/27/2010 (All day) to Wed, 09/29/2010 (All day)
Location: Brussels Expo, 1020 Brussels, Belgium

First International Conference on Energy-Efficient Computing and Networking
From Tue, 04/13/2010 (All day) to Thu, 04/15/2010 (All day)
Location: University of Passau, 94032 Passau, Germany

The EU Sustainable Energy Week
From Mon, 03/22/2010 (All day) to Fri, 03/26/2010 (All day)
Location: Brussels, Belgium

ICT4EE 2010: The Key Event on ICT for Energy Efficiency
From Tue, 02/23/2010 (All day) to Wed, 02/24/2010 (All day)
Location: Brussels, Belgium

Further information about older projects and news can be found over at https://twitter.com/fit4green

Information about energy saving in data centers can be found in the article on https://www.eenewseurope.com/news/energy-aware-plug-enables-20-percent-energy-savings-data-centers – just keep being informed.

Validation of all the research outcomes through extensive multi-phase pilot test in real data centres representing various computing styles.

This is NOT the official FIT4Green website – This is an unofficial information page about the FIT4Green Project. We would to thank https://www.kreditvergleich-oesterreich.at for hosting and support of this small project/informational page.